Campaign Challenges 1

My campaign in the world of the Elder Scrolls is something I’m really excited about. I’ve been a fan of the series since Oblivion came out, and I’m currently getting through my first playthrough of Morrowind. I’ve been trying for a long time to capture the feeling of freedom and wonder of those games over the table, and this is the first time I’ve run a campaign from the ground up in the world of Tamriel.

There are a couple of challenges. My university semester only lasts until late August, at which point most of my players will part ways. This gives me 14 sessions to work with, and because of scheduling constraints I have precisely 3 and a half hours every session. I needed a natural way to set a time limit on the campaign.

I decided to base the campaign around a prophecy that would come to pass in 100 days. This gives the players incentive to explore the world and prepare for it instead of spending hours picking flowers and crafting iron daggers. But it turns out this solution presents a few problems of its own.

For one thing, in-game time doesn’t line up well with time in real life. If I have 14 sessions until the campaign ends, we need to get through an average of 7 days of in-game time every session. The last session will probably be taken up by the big final battle, and we’re already two sessions in with 96 days left to cover. That means we have to get through 9 days of content every session. Working against me is the fact that the players will want to get as much done every in-game day as possible.

My original plan was to make sure travel time remained significant and fill the world with interesting distractions and dangers, just like in the video games. By creating quests that send the players all over the world, we can use up in-game time more efficiently.

Leave a Reply

